Drafting a business letters in English ( enquiry, order, complaint and application)



Types of business letters

 

1. Enquiry letter

The letter written by a buyer to the seller asking for the information about goods to be purchased is called enquiry letter. It is written to enquire about the quality, price of goods, discount offered, terms of payment and so on.

 

The letter which is written by seller to the buyer giving the information about goods to be sold is called reply to enquiry letter. It is written to give the information about quality, price of goods, discount offered, terms of payment and so on.

 

Example of enquiry letter and its reply About typewriter

Garfield secretarial

Kathmandu

 

Baneshwor, Kathmandu

May 16, 2013

 

Reference:

CONFIDENTIAL

M/S ABC press and machineries

Kathmandu

 

Dear sir/madam,

 

Subject: for purchase of Nepali and English typewriter

 

We are one of the leading secretarial training institute of Kathmandu and we are planning to extend our services to the fullest. We have heard about your clean services since a very long time and we want to have purchase deals with you. Your market value and goodwill have lured us to extend our business dealings. We expect to have the best services from your side too. We are interested in purchasing Nepali and English typewriter four of them each. We would be glad to know about your offer, payment system, delivery period and post sale services.

 

Respectfully yours,

Garfield secretarial

Sales manager

c

 

Reply to the enquiry letter

 

ABC press and machineries

Kathmandu

 

 

Baneshwor, Kathmandu

May 18, 2013

 

Reference:

CONFIDENTIAL

M/S Garfield secretarial

Staff manager

Kathmandu

 

Dear sir/madam,

We thank you for your enquiry of May 16, 2013 regarding Nepali and English typewriter.

We have pleasure in informing you about the product type we have as following

 

 

model

 

Prices in rs.
English
15 inch                      18 inch

 

Prices in rs.
Nepali
15 inch                    18 inch

 
Remington 16000          19000       18000                       29000
Helga 13000          15000       12000                        13000  
Brother 15000          18000       13000                        18000  

 

 

 

 

Delivery period for 2 months

Payment: after delivery of good [cash payment or cheque].

Post sale service: 1 year free servicing with 2 year warranty on each machine

 

We hope you will find above term good and will accept it

Thanking you

 

Yours faithfully,

M/S ABC press and machineries

Sales manager

Kathmandu

 

 

2. Letter of order:

 

The letter which is written by the buyer to the seller to place the order for goods is called order letter. It is contract between buyer and seller for the goods to be purchased while placing the order of the goods. The seller however must give and buyer must have pre determined information about quality, price of goods, discount offered, terms of payment and so on.

 

Example of letter of order

 

Garfield secretarial

New Baneshwor, Kathmandu

 

Baneshwor, Kathmandu

May 20, 2013

 

Ref no:

M/ S ABC press and machineries

Kathmandu, Nepal

 

Dear sir/madam

We thank you for letter along with price list and quotation dated May 18, 2013. The terms and conditions given in your letter are acceptable. So we want to extend our business. We would like to have the supply of following machines through transport co. and we will forward the document of payment through Janata bank located in Baneshwor.

 

Orders list

models English

pcs

Nepali

pcs

Remington 5 3
Helda 6 4
Brother 7 8

 

Please confirm this order and informing us the dispatch date. This payment will be made only after receipt of goods.

 

 

Thanking you,

 

Yours faithfully,

Garfield secretarial

Sales manager

c

 

3. Confirmation letter

The letter which is written by the seller to the buyer confirming the order received is called confirmation letter. While writing confirmation letter, the seller should state that the order ha been received and the goods as per ordered will be delivered as soon as possible

 

Example of confirmation letter

 

ABC press and machineries

Kathmandu

 

 

Baneshwor, Kathmandu

May 18, 2013

 

Reference:

CONFIDENTIAL

M/S Garfield secretarial

Staff manager

Kathmandu

 

Dear sir/madam,

We received your order letter dated May 20, 2013 and we agree to your request of supply and mode of payment. We assure you that the goods and quantity of goods will be delivered through transport co. as soon as possible. We will make our best efforts to deliver the right good at right time and at right place. In addition, we would like to have full cash payment at the time of delivery. Thanks a lot for dealing with us. We hope for better relationship and more dealings here after.

 

 

Thanking you,

 

 

Yours faithfully,

M/S ABC press and machineries

Sales manager

Kathmandu

 

4. Complaint letter

The letter which is written by the buyer and the seller making complaint against the goods delivered is called complaint letter. The letter is written if the goods received are of inferior quality, high price and late delivery. Complaint should not be made unnecessarily without making sure that the facts found are right.

 

Example of complaint letter

 

Garfield secretarial

New Baneshwor, Kathmandu

 

Baneshwor, Kathmandu

May 20, 2013

 

Ref no:

M/ S ABC press and machineries

Kathmandu, Nepal

 

Dear sir/madam

The goods that we ordered for were received timely but we noticed little damage on some of the typewriters on the time of delivery. 1 English typewriter of Brother was partly broken and 2 Nepali typewriters from Helda did not work properly since the time of installation. We want them to be replaced as soon as possible and we don’t want any trouble here after. If they won’t be replaced soon then we would like to have our payment of each typewriter mentioned above to be repaid back. We hope for your better response.

 

 

Thanking you,

 

Yours faithfully,

Garfield secretarial

Sales manager

c

 

Letter of application

A letter written for receiving an employment is called application. It is generally written for selection for a job. When you write the letter of job application you should explain about yourself, your qualifications and experience. It should be clean, and respectful.

 

Anamnagar-32

Kathmandu, Nepal

 

May 18, 2013

 

To,

The personnel manager

The citizens’ bank

Kamaladi, Kathmandu, Nepal

 

Subject: an application for the post of an accountant

 

Dear sir/madam

With reference to your advertisement published in “The Himalayan Times” daily dated May 16, 2013 I would like to apply for the vacant post of an accountant in your most reputed bank of the city. Being a person with stupendous academic qualification and sound personality I think I would be a deserving candidate for the post.

 

I am a qualified, energetic and disciplined person of 24. I am a bachelor degree holder with distinction from TU which is the top university of the nation. I am currently doing MBA from Nepal commerce campus and have completed my first semester with distinction marks. I have always had excellent academic qualification. Addition to that, I am multilingual person with fluency in English, Nepali, Hindi and French. I have a good knowledge of computer software design too. I have gathered relevant experience of being an accountant for 2 years in Griha cooperatives and for 2 years in Kist bank. I assure you that my glorifying qualifications and experiences will turn out to be better if you give me a chance to explore more out of me in your bank.

 

Attached documents, certificates and me CV will give you further more information about me. It is my vow that if I get a chance to work for your bank I won’t leave any stones unturned. My faithfulness, honesty and diligence will certainly be fruitful for your bank. Waiting for your positive reply

 

Yours sincerely,

Abc xyz

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­

 

 

 

About Author: admin

Comments are closed.

Find us on Facebook